Grace Livingston Hill Short Stories & Collections

Katherine's YesterdayBefore she became famous as a novelist, Grace Livingston Hill wrote short stories for many publications. Over the years, many of these stories have been collected and published in book form. The earliest of these, "Katherine's Yesterday", was one of the first Grace Livingston Hill books ever published.

In the 1930's, J. B. Lippincott published a series of small Grace Livingston Hill books they called "pamphlets". These short stories were published in addition to Grace's regular novels in both hardback and paperback editions and are very rare. We list them as books in our GLH book lists, since they were produced individually. However, these short stories appear in many of the short story collections published in later years. Since they were published during the Great Depression, we suspect they were meant for readers whose budget was tight. Inside the jacket of one of these treasures (a hardback edition) is the price of the book—50¢.

After Grace's death in 1947, her daughters published a collection entitled, "Miss Lavinia's Call".  Since then, many of those stories and quite a few others have been collected, published, and re-published for eager Grace Livingston Hill readers to enjoy. 

1992 • Amereon House (publishing division of Amereon Ltd.)

A new edition was reprinted in 2012.

Volume 1 contains the same titles as Living Books Paperback Series #92 "The Honeymoon House". Volume 2 contains the same short stories as Living Books Paperback Series #93 "Katherine's Yesterday".


ce stories volume1  ce stories volume2 

Volume I

The first nine stories were published by J.B. Lippincott in the 1930's as individual "pamphlets". "My Brother's Keeper" is from "Katherine's Yesterday and Other Christian Endeavor Stories" (1895) 

  • The Honeymoon House
  • Life Out of Death
  • The Minister's Son
  • The Old Guard
  • The House Across the Hedge
  • The Wedding Garment
  • The Divided Battle
  • The Strange God
  • The Lost Message
  • "My Brother's Keeper" 


Volume 2

These stories are taken from "Katherine's Yesterday and Other Christian Endeavor Stories" (1895).

  • Katherine's Yesterday
  • An Excuse for Christ
  • John Chamberlain's Easter Coat
  • A Voice Unheard
  • The Pledge
  • A Missionary Meeting
  • Some Carols for the Lord
  • The Praise of Men
  • The Love Gift
  • "Living Epistles"
  • The Unknown God
  • Under the Window